Doing good…or trying to anyway

14 Sep

We all know it’s hard to find a good job these days. For every open position there are often hundreds of applicants vying for the job. Companies can afford to be picky as competition is fierce. These facts have become common knowledge these days but I was completely surprised to discover that volunteering is almost equally as difficult. This was even more of a surprise because it seems (with hindsight) that my jaunts into volunteering in Los Angeles have been relatively charmed. My first experience was at Antaeus (a classical theatre company) – and it was a truly beneficial experience. I am currently working with Cindy Marie Jenkins on her Voice from Chornobyl project and loving it. However, I know numerous people who have not had such a positive experience trying to lend their time to a good cause in Los Angeles.

I’ve had numerous friends comment to me about their struggles trying to volunteer in LA. Though they were not all looking specifically within the arts, they all expressed the feeling that they were looked at almost critically for wanting to volunteer at a given organization. One friend even said that she was treated as if she were wasting the people’s time since she was only available after work and this organization would only work with someone who could commit to a more full-time volunteer schedule. Another friend who looked into participating in the Big Brother / Big Sister program was told that there were actually more volunteers than children in the program, so they turned her away.

Hearing these stories got me thinking. What makes an organization turn away someone willing to donate time to a cause they are passionate about? While of course not all organizations have a need for volunteers all the time, it is surprising the number of people who have been discouraged while trying to get involved in an organization. Though I say my experience has been generally a good one I have had some negative experiences as well. Having contacted many organizations (mostly theatres or other arts based institutions) I often did not receive a response or even have been told that I should first patronize (read as: give money to) the organization and then we could talk about letting me volunteer. In an age when most non-profits are desperate for resources it seems like bad business to ignore anyone reaching out to your organization, even if you aren’t in need of a volunteer.

The non-profit community (the arts in particular) thrives on collaboration between passionate individuals; everyone I have heard express frustration at the lack of response they have gotten from the organizations they have contact are passionate about the causes they have reached out to. If the main issue is a lack of resources to train and manage volunteers it would seem in the best interest of organizations to put more into these programs as it seem to me there is an untapped wealth of individuals willing to donate time and talents to causes that motivate them.

Leave a comment